65th Primetime Emmy® Award Nominations Announced

It’s that time of year again—Emmy Awards season! Today, The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences kicked off the annual race to see who’ll take home the coveted Emmy when they announced the 65th Primetime Emmy Award Nominations. And, of course, that means Disney/ABC Television Group was among those to be recognized—remember, it’s just an honor to be nominated!—with dozens of nominations.


ABC received 45 nominations in all, including nods for a couple of my favorites—Scandal‘s Kerry Washington and Nashville‘s Connie Britton, who are both nominated for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series.

Alongside Washington and Britton’s nominations, the side-splitting sitcom Modern Family—another one of my favorites—received 12 nods! Among the nominations are Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding Supporting Actress for Julie Bowen and Sofí­a Vergara and Outstanding Supporting Actor for Ed O’Neill, Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Ty Burrell.

The hit show Dancing with the Stars—entering its 17th season this fall—received nine nominations, including Outstanding Reality Competition Program and Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Program for the always-witty Tom Bergeron. Anthony Bourdain was also recognized in the Outstanding Host category for his work on the freshman series The Taste, and fan favorite Shark Tank was nominated for Outstanding Reality Program for a second year in a row.


 Jimmy Kimmel Live received its second consecutive nomination for Outstanding Variety Series. Since moving to 11:35 p.m., the show has enjoyed its most-watched season ever.


In addition to ABC’s nominations, Disney Channel’s Good Luck Charlie was recognized with a nomination for Outstanding Children’s Program. The Walt Disney Television Animation produced Mickey Mouse cartoon short “”Croissant de Triomphe”” also received a nod in the Outstanding Short-Format Animated Program category.

Now we just have to wait until September 22 to see who will be crowned the best of the best. Congratulations to all the nominees!